College Assembly & High Table Dinner

GEWS 1000 College Assembly/ High Table Dinner

This course is a non-credit bearing course. Several high table dinners will be organized annually, and each student is required to attend ONE high table dinner each academic year and at least ONE assembly each term in order to get a "PASS" grade for the course.

It aims to enhance the general knowledge of students outside of their major studies. Topics presented at the assemblies include social, ethical, cultural, religious, political, artistic and aesthetic issues. Each assembly consists of a topical introduction and discussion, a College session, a Student Union session, and the presentation of awards to outstanding staff and students.

In the academic year 2016-2017, a total of eight assemblies and four high table dinners will be held. All students are required to attend two assemblies (i.e. one assembly for each term) and one high table dinner except MBChB students who are in clinical studies. In the 2nd term of 2016-2017, there will be other activities which will be counted as the fulfillment of College Assemblies, including forums, seminars and workshops. Please refer to the announcement later.





2nd Term in 2016-2017

2016-2017 College Assembly/ Woo Sing Forum/ High Table Dinner (2nd Term Schedule) : Click here


College Assembly:

4th College Assembly: 20 January 2017 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm

5th College Assembly: 24 February 2017 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm

Special Assembly: 10 March 2017 (Friday) 7:30pm-9:30pm

6th College Assembly: 24 March 2017 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm

7th College Assembly: 7 April 2017 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm

Special Assembly: 20 April 2017 (Thursday) 2:30pm-4:15pm



Woo Sing Forum:

4th Woo Sing Forum: 20 February 2017 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm

5th Woo Sing Forum: 6 March 2017 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm

6th Woo Sing Forum: 20 March 2017 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm

7th Woo Sing Forum: 3 April 2017 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm


High Table Dinner:

3rd High Table Dinner: 16 February 2017 (Thursday) 6:30pm-8:30pm


4th High Table Dinner: 19 April 2017 (Wednesday) 6:30pm-8:30pm






1st Term in 2016-2017

2016-2017 College Assembly/ Woo Sing Forum/ High Table Dinner (1st Term Schedule) : Click here


College Assembly:

1st College Assembly: 30 September 2016 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm

Special College Assembly: 8 October 2016 (Saturday) 7:00pm-9:00pm

2nd College Assembly: 28 October 2016 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm

3rd College Assembly: 11 November 2016 (Friday) 11:30am-1:15pm


Woo Sing Forum:

1st Woo Sing Forum: 19 September 2016 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm

2nd Woo Sing Forum: 31 October 2016 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm

3rd Woo Sing Forum: 21 November 2016 (Monday) 6:30pm-8:00pm


High Table Dinner:

1st High Table Dinner: 22 September 2016 (Thursday) 6:30pm-8:30pm

2nd High Table Dinner: 2 November 2016 (Wednesday) 6:30pm-8:30pm




Chinese Art and Culture Month:

Opening Seminar and Chinese Music Show: 29 June 2016 (Wednesday) 6:00pm-8:30pm

My Dream: 30 June 2016 (Thursday) 7:15pm-9:45pm

Kunqu Demonstration: 8 July 2016 (Friday) 10:30am-12:00pm




Revised Rules and Regulations for GEWS1000


Assembly


  1. Students are required to attend at least ONE assembly each term in order to get a "PASS" grade for this part.
  2. Students can register for the Assembly through our online registration form during registration period. Both successful and unsuccessful applicants will receive the confirmation email from the College. The list of successful applicants is posted on College website for reference.
  3. Students must bring along with their WS Access Plus for attendance taking.
  4. Students should be punctual. Students who are late for more than 15 minutes or leave early without prior approval will be counted as absence of the assembly.
  5. Students should keep quiet as a respect to the College, guest speakers, and other attendees during the Assembly.
  6. Students should refrain from talking, playing and other improper behavior such as the use of cell phones and electronic products.
  7. Students may check their attendance record via the College’s website three days after the Assembly. Students, who find any discrepancies, should contact the College via email to wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk within ten days after the concerned Assembly. Late application will be denied.
  8. Student organizations who would like to make announcements during the Assembly should apply for approval from the College at least five days before the Assembly
  9. Students who are unable to fulfil the requirement of Assembly are required to submit an application together with supporting documents via email to: wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk during add/ drop period. All applications will be passed to the College Dean of General Education for consideration. Late application will be denied.

High Table Dinner

  1. Students are required to attend at least ONE high table dinner each academic year in order to get a "PASS" grade for this part.
  2. Students can register for the High Table Dinner through our online registration form during registration period. Both successful and unsuccessful applicants will receive the confirmation email from the College. The list of successful applicants is posted on College website for reference.
  3. Successful participants who are unable to attend the High Table Dinner are required to submit an application together with supporting documents for the cancellation of registration via email to: wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk at least 10 days before the High Table Dinner. All applications will be passed to the College Dean of General Education for consideration. Late application will be denied.
  4. Students should bring along with their WS Access Plus for attendance taking.
  5. Formal dressing with College gown is required. Ladies are expected to wear blouse, skirt/trousers or dress and leather shoes. Gentlemen are expected to wear shirt, trousers and leather shoes. Jeans, shorts, sandals and slippers will not be accepted. Students have to follow the dress code strictly. Otherwise, they will not be admitted and are regarded as absence.
  6. Students should be punctual. Students who are late for more than 15 minutes or leave early without prior approval will be counted as absence of the High Table Dinner.
  7. Students should keep quiet as a respect to the College, guest speakers, and other attendees during the High Table Dinner.
  8. Students should refrain from talking, playing and other improper behavior such as the use of cell phones and electronic products.
  9. To avoid food wasting, registered students who are absent from the High Table Dinner have to pay a meal fee of HK$150. Absentees will not be allowed to register for other High Table Dinners until the outstanding meal fee is settled.
  10. For those students who are absent from the High Table Dinner due to illness or emergency matters, they can submit an application for fee waiver, together with valid medical certificate or related supporting documents, via email to wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk within three working days. All applications will be passed to the College Dean of General Education for consideration. Late application will be denied.
  11. Students may check their attendance record via the College’s website three days after the High Table Dinner. Students, who find any discrepancies, should contact the College via email to wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk within ten days after the concerned High Table Dinner. Late application will be denied.
  12. Student organizations who would like to make announcements during the High Table Dinner should apply for approval from the College at least five days before the High Table Dinner.
  13. Students who are not on campus in either term (such as exchange or work study) can apply for special arrangement so as to fulfil the requirement of High Table Dinner. Students are required to submit an application together with supporting documents via email to: wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk in September. All applications will be passed to the College Dean of General Education for consideration. Late application will be denied.

跳到內文 字体大小AAA

书院周会及高桌晚宴

GEWS 1000 书院周会 / 高桌晚宴

本科为书院每月举行的不带学分之书院周会或高桌晚宴,书院将于每学年举办数次高桌晚宴,学生须于每学年出席一次高桌晚宴,及每学期出席至少一次书院周会,该科方可取得合格成绩。

本科旨在加强学生对主修科以外的一般知识,共同探讨社会、道德、文化、宗教、政治、艺术和美学等问题。每节周会将透过不同形式,例如专题讨论、学生团体环节、杰出员工和学生颁奖典礼等等。

2016-2017年度,书院将举办八次书院周会及四次高桌晚宴,除于临床期内之医科学生外,所有学生须出席两次书院周会(每学期一次)及一次高桌晚宴。而2016/17下学期,书院将会举办一连串活动,包括论坛、工作坊、公开讲座。出席同学可以当作达到书院周会要求,详情请留意公布。




2017-2018年度第一学期


2017-2018书院周会/ 和声论坛/ 高桌晚宴 (第一学期) : 请按此


书院周会:

第一次书院周会: 2017年9月29日 (星期五)  11:30am-1:15pm

特别周会: 2017年10月7日 (星期六)  7:00-9:00pm

第二次书院周会: 2017年10月27日 (星期五)  11:30am-1:15pm

第三次书院周会: 2017年11月10日 (星期五)  11:30am-1:15pm

特别周会: 2017年11月24日 (星期五)  11:30am-1:15pm


和声论坛:

第一次和声论坛: 2017年9月25日 (星期一)  6:30pm-8:00pm

第二次和声论坛: 2017年10月30日 (星期一)  6:30om-8:00p,

第三次和声论坛: 2017年11月20日 (星期一)  6:30om-8:00p,


高桌晚宴:

第一次高桌晚宴: 2017年10月18日 (星期三)  6:30pm-8:45pm

第二次高桌晚宴: 2017年11月22日 (星期三)  6:30pm-8:45pm




书院周会及高桌晚宴指引:


周会

  1. 同学必须于每学期出席至少一次书院周会,方可于此部份取得合格成绩。
  2. 同学可于登记期间,透过网上报名(WoosApp)参加周会。被取录的同学,会于登记截止后,透过 WoosApp 获发二维码(QR code),书院亦于书院网页公布取录名单以供参考。
  3. 同学出席周会时于入场展示WS Access Plus 及已获发的二维码(QR code)以统确认出席。
  4. 同学必须准时出席周会。凡未经书院通识教育主任批准而迟到超过十五分钟或提早离场的同学,将视作缺席论。
  5. 于周会进行期间,同学应保持安静,以示对书院、讲员以及其他出席者的尊重。
  6. 同学不应谈话、嬉戏及使用手提电话和电子产品。
  7. 出席纪录将于周会举行后三天内上载至书院网页,以供同学查阅。如对出席纪录有疑问,须于该周会举行后十天内电邮至wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk。逾期申请将不获接纳。
  8. 学生组织如欲于周会期间作宣传或布告事项,请于周会举行前五天电邮至wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk。 申请。
  9. 凡因特殊理由而未能出席周会的同学,必须于退选/加选期间,连同相关支持文件,透过电邮(wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk),向书院提出申请。所有申请会交由书院通识教育主任考虑。逾期申请将不获接纳。

高桌晚宴

  1. 同学必须于每学年出席一次高桌晚宴,方可于此部份取得合格成绩。
  2. 同学可于登记期间,透过网上WoosApp参加高桌晚宴。被取录的同学,会于登记截止后,透过 WoosApp 获发二维码(QR code),书院亦于书院网页公布取录名单以供参考。
  3. 凡成功报名而未能如期出席高桌晚宴的同学,必须于高桌晚宴举行前至少十天,连同相关支持文件,透过电邮(wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk),向书院提出申请。所有申请会交由书院通识教育主任考虑。逾期申请将不获接纳。
  4. 同学出席高桌晚宴时于入场展示已获发的二维码(QR code)以确认出席。
  5. 同学必须穿着正式服饰及书院院袍出席高桌晚宴,建议女同学穿着恤衫、半截裙/西裤或连身裙及皮鞋,建议男同学穿着恤衫、西裤及皮鞋。不可穿著牛仔裤、短裤、凉鞋或拖鞋进场。服饰不适当的同学,将不获参加该次高桌晚宴,并视作缺席论。
  6. 同学应准时出席高桌晚宴。凡未经书院通识教育主任批准而迟到超过十五分钟或提早离场的同学,将视作缺席论
  7. 于高桌晚宴进行期间,同学应保持安静,以示对书院、讲员以及其他出席者的尊重。
  8. 同学不应谈话、嬉戏及使用手提电话和电子产品。
  9. 为免浪费食物,凡成功报名而缺席高桌晚宴的同学,将被收取餐膳费用港币一百五十元正。有关同学将不获安排参加高桌晚宴,直至缴妥餐膳费用。
  10. 同学如因病或紧急事故而缺席高桌晚宴,可连同相关支持文件,透过电邮(wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk),向书院提出餐膳费用豁免申请。所有申请会交由书院通识教育主任考虑。逾期申请将不获接纳。
  11. 出席纪录将于高桌晚宴举行后三天内上载至书院网页,以供同学查阅。如对出席纪录有疑问,须于该高桌晚宴举行后十天内电邮至wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk。逾期申请将不获接纳。
  12. 学生组织如欲于高桌晚宴期间作宣传或布告事项,请于晚宴举行前五天电邮至wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk申请。
  13. 同学如因交换计划、工作实习等理由,而需休学一个学期,可连同相关支持文件,透过电邮(wscollege@cuhk.edu.hk),于九月向书院提出特别安排申请。所有申请会交由书院通识教育主任考虑。逾期申请将不获接纳。