Guangzhou Visit

Date: 9-11 July 2016

Venue: Guangzhou City


Day 1: Zhongshan Memorial Hall, Guangxiao Temple, or Chen Clan Temple, Guangdong Museum, Cantonese Opera Night in the Red Boat on Pearl River

A. Zhongshan Memorial Hall

Guangzhou Zhongshan Memorial Hall’s construction was collectively financed by Guangzhou citizens and overseas Chinese so as to commemorate Sun Yat-sen. The construction began in January 1929 and completed in November 1931. It is an octagonal palace architecture full of awe and marvel. The total area of the building is approximately 3,700 square meters, with the height of 49 meters. It is surrounded and engulfed by palace-style architectures which are overlapping one another from all four directions, just like a Chinese dragon whose spine is curled up and folded fourfold into an entirety. The designers employed skillfully the structural principles of construction mechanics by using a steel frame and reinforced concrete composite structure to create a span of 71 m of building space without any supporting pillars. Guangzhou Zhongshan Memorial Hall is not only one of the most iconic architectures in Guangzhou, but also an important venue for large-scale assembly and shows in the city. It has witnessed many profound historic events that took place in Guangzhou.

B. Guangxiao Temple

Guangxiao Temple, one of the famous ancient buildings in Guangdong Province, is a national key cultural relics protection unit. According to “Guangxiao Temple Diary”, in the beginning it was the residence of Nanyue Emperor Zhao Jiande in the second century B.C.. During the Three Kingdoms period, Yufan was banished to live there, and after his death, his family transformed it into a temple.

Guangxiao Temple’s architecture is meticulously structured, especially with such a great number of cultural relics and historic sites, such as the Grand Majestic Jewelry Hall founded in Eastern Jin Dynasty, the Bowl-Washing Spring drilled by Dharma in Nan Dynasty, the Burial Tower, Stone Pillar Column of Tang Dynasty, the Terra Tower of Nan Han period, the Patriarch Temple and Buddha-Lying Hall of Song and Ming Dynasties, and the inscriptions, statues, terminalia tree, and linden, etc. They all are invaluable Buddhist historic sites and relics. The construction scale of Guangxiao Temple comes second to none in Lingnan.

B Alternative: The Chen Clan Temple (Choose either Guangxiao Temple or The Chen Clan Temple)

Chen Clan Academy, commonly known as The Chen Clan Temple, was proposed in Guangxu sixteen years of Qing Dynasty (1890) and completed in 1894. It was an ancestral hall and academy jointly funded by the Chen Clan from 72 counties in Guangdong, providing venue for the Chen Clan youngsters to teach and learn. It is an artistic building complex known for its rich Guangdong distinctions, unmatched by any other existing ancestral halls in the province. Its rigorous layout, elaborate ornamentations, and magnificence make it a national relics key protection unit.

Ever since 21st century, Chen Clan Academy, dubbed “Honorable Ancient Temple”, has twice been included in the “New Century Guangzhou Eight Spectacles”, and was hailed as the “Business Card for Guangzhou culture”, becoming the most artistically rich and culturally rich museum in Lingnan area, and the widely-known tourist spot.

C. Guangdong Museum

The new Guangdong Province Museum, completed in 2010, has a total area of 6,700 square meters. Not only is it the only provincial integrated museum in Guangdong Province, but also a national first-class museum.

Guangdong Province Museum’s displays and exhibitions come in three main directions of historic cultures, arts, and nature of Guangdong, with its area divided into four major sections of History Hall, Nature Hall, Arts Hall, and Temporary Hall. As of December 2009, the number of the collections in the Museum is over 166,000. In addition, the Museum holds approximately 100,000 library materials.

D. Cantonese Opera Night in the Red Boat on Pearl River

“The Ship Says” Cantonese Red Boat, the grandest, longest, widest, and tallest cruise ship on Pearl River, cost the total investment of 10 million Yuan. Within the hull there is a spacious rectangular area, with no distinctive boundary between the performing and audience area. The most enchanting part of this Boat is, apart from its unique design, a love story performance between one man and three ladies whose background is set in Guangdong in early Republic of China. What impresses the audience most after they walk through the hull is the sense of “time-traveling” a hundred years back in Guangzhou City. The sense of three-dimensional space and the water-flow performing arts theater focusing on sensory and psychological feelings creates an immersive situational experience that is both close and participatory. Performances on “The Ship Says” perfectly blend multiple artistic techniques such as opera, dancing, music, movies, mime, and acrobatics, etc.

Besides the opera, there is enchanting night scene on the both sides of the Pearl River.


Day 2: Foshan Ancestral Temple, Bruce Lee's former residence, Shiwan Art Pottery Factory

A. Foshan Ancestral Temple

Foshan Ancestral Temple was built during the North Song Dynasty Yuanfeng period (1078-1085), renovated in Ming Dynasty Hongwu five year (1372), and gradually became in the early stage of Qing Dynasty a temple architecture that had its complete system, rigorous structure, and strong local characteristics.

The Ancestral Temple’s main hall is ornamented with a great number of precious artworks, and acts as a folk art museum, and is always commended as the “Oriental Folk Art Palace”. Foshan locals regard the Temple as their roots and origins, and numerous newly-married couples are eager to organize their wedding ceremony in the Temple. Even if they don’t, they would most definitely take wedding photos together in front of the Temple’s doors. Children approaching school age also went there to participate in the pen-opening ceremony, which has been established for many years, and many parents living in Peal River Delta area choose the Temple as the venue for the pen-opening ceremony for their children.

The connotations that the Temple embodies are overwhelming and can only be felt and experienced in person. That way, one can understand the subtlety lying within the Temple.

B. Bruce Lee’s former residence

World-renowned martial arts star Bruce Lee's ancestral residence is in Shang Tsuen Village of Jun’an Town, Shunde, Foshan. A grand tall temple sits at the entrance of the village and that is the Lee Ancestral Hall. The primary hall is dedicated to the souls of Lee ancestors. The whole shrine is cavernous and orderly and solemn. Its height measures 4.2 meters, and there are a lobby and two rooms whose widths are 15 pits and 11 pits respectively. The area measures 51 square meters only and is decorated with numerous photographs of Bruce Lee’s life.

C. Shiwan Art Pottery Factory

Established in 1956, Shiwan Art Pottery Factory has, over the past 40 years, transformed itself from a tiny factory producing solely art pottery to a large-scale modern enterprise in possession of numerous “Red Lion” branded products such as art pottery, ancient garden ceramics, split bricks, western-style tiles, imitated stone bricks, jade stoneware tiles, and garden art bricks.

Shiwan pottery is the famous arts and crafts of Lingnan. Shiwan pottery has a long history, and can be traced way back to the late Neolithic times in the midden ruins where Guangdong Shiwan pottery could be identified. Artistic pottery gathered its momentum in the Tang Dynasty, and reached its peak in the Ming and Qing Dynasty. The manufacturing of Shiwan pottery is by the folk kilns, while the pottery arts are entirely the creation of the folk pottery artists.


Day 3: Guangzhou Higher Education Mega Center, Lingnan Impression Garden

A. Guangzhou University City

Located by the sides of the Pearl River, Guangzhou University City has a total area of 34.4 square kilometers. Within the Centre, there are Zhongshan University, South China University of Technology, South China Normal University, Guangzhou University, Guangdong University of Foreign Studies, Guangzhou University of Chinese Medicine, Guangdong College of Pharmacy, Guangdong University of Technology, Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts, Xinghai Conservatory of Music, Jinan University, and Guangzhou Medical University.

Guangzhou University City is the center in Southern China for senior personnel nurturing, and scientific research and exchange. It is a top-notch national university campus where learning, researching, and manufacturing are combined for further development, and it is the “Information Port” and “Intelligence Center” in Southern China.

B. Lingnan Impression Garden

Lingnan impression Park, located in the south of the Xiaoguwei Island Riverside area, has a total area of 16.5 hectares, and is a tourist spot where one can experience local customs and folk culture of Lingnan. There are traditional and typical Lingnan-style building groups in which houses are built by the river. Some of the houses may have narrow doors and great heights, while others may have high walls that resemble the handle a wok, a Chinese cooking utensil. The long Qingyun lane, the quaint Tanglong door, the fine Manchuria windows, combined with the meandering creeks and crystal-clear ponds, always exude splendor and charm.

Lingnan Impression garden’s distinctive streets, temples, local houses, and shops fully demonstrate the essence of Lingnan culture. Its breath-taking scenes highlight Lingnan’s essential native culture and landscape, and restore the life and prosperity of Lingnan folks. The integrity of Lingnan architectures, the deep-rooted folk culture, and the rich pastoral countryside become a window for modern people to understand the ancient culture of Lingnan. In the Garden, there are lion dance, airplane olive, sugar-blowing men, dough figurines, popcorn, foreign cigarettes sales, newspapers sales, street painters, people wandering with caged birds, glass-blowing, goldfish sales, diabolo, shuttlecock activities, rope-jumping, gyroscope performance, and other folk performances and playful activities.

跳到內文 字体大小AAA

中华文化之旅

日期:2016年7月9至11日

地点:广东广州


第一日:中山纪念堂、光孝寺或陈家祠、广东省博物馆、红船夜游珠江赏戏

A. 中山纪念堂

广州市中山纪念堂是广州人民和海外华侨为纪念孙中山先生集资兴建的。1929年1月动工,1931年11月建成。中山纪念堂是一座宏伟、壮丽的八角形宫殿式建筑。整座建筑面积约为3700平方米,高49米,由前后左右四个宫殿式重簷歇山抱厦建筑组成,就像四层卷叠的龙脊,组成一个整体,设计师巧妙运用了建筑力学的结构原理,采用钢架和钢筋混凝土混合结构,跨度达71米的建筑空间内不设一柱。广州中山纪念堂是广州最具标致性的建筑物之一,又是广州市大型集会和演出的重要场所。它见证了广州的许多历史大事件。

B. 光孝寺

光孝寺,广东著名古建筑群之一,全国重点文物保护单位,据《光孝寺志》记载,初为西元前二世纪南越王赵建德之故宅。三国时代,吴国虞翻谪居于此,虞翻去世后,家人舍宅作寺。

光孝寺建筑结构严谨,特别是文物史迹众多。如始建于东晋的大雄宝殿,南朝时达摩开凿的洗钵泉,唐朝的瘗发塔、石经幢,南汉的千佛铁塔,宋、明时期的六祖殿、卧佛殿,以及碑刻、佛像、诃子树、菩提树等,都是珍贵的佛教遗迹遗物。光孝寺的建筑规模为岭南之冠。

B. 备选:陈家祠(光孝寺、陈家祠两者选一)

陈氏书院,俗称陈家祠,筹建于清光绪十六年(1890年),1894年落成,为广东72县陈姓族人捐资合建的宗祖祠和书院,一直作为陈姓子弟读书办学的地方。陈家祠是广东现存祠堂中最富有广东特色的艺术建筑群,布局严整,装饰精巧,富丽堂皇,是全国文物重点保护单位。

21世纪以来,陈氏书院以“古祠流芳”之名两度入选“新世纪羊城八景”,被誉为“广州文化名片”,成为岭南地区最具文化艺术特色的博物馆和著名的旅游景点。

C. 广东省博物馆

广东省博物馆新馆于2010年建成,总占地面积6.7万平方米,是广东省唯一的省级综合博物馆,也是国家一级博物馆。

广东省博物馆陈列展览以广东历史文化、艺术、自然为三大主要陈列方向,分为历史馆、自然馆、艺术馆和临展馆四大部分,截至200912月,广东省博物馆藏品已达16.6万余件(套),此外,该馆还收藏有图书资料10余万册。

D. 上红船夜游珠江观赏粤剧

珠江最大、最长、最宽、最高的一艘游船——船说号粤剧红船,总投资1亿元,船体内部是一个宽敞的长方体空间,表演空间和观赏空间之间并无明显界限。粤剧红船最吸引人的除了它的独特设计外,还有演出以民国初年广州一个关于一男三女的爱情故事。观众最特别的观感是一走进船舱就穿越到百年前的广州城。立体化的空间感受,注重感官和心理体验的流动式水上演艺剧场,为观众营造了一种沉浸式的情景参与型近身体验,《船说》表演完美地结合了戏剧、舞蹈、音乐、电影、默剧、杂技等多样化的艺术手段。

观剧之余亦可欣赏珠江两岸的璀璨夜景。


第二日:佛山祖庙、李小龙故居、石湾美术陶瓷厂

A. 佛山祖庙

佛山祖庙北宋元丰年间(1078—1085年)始建,明洪武五年(1372年)重修,至清代初年逐渐成为一座体系完整、结构严谨、具有浓厚地方特色的庙宇建筑。

祖庙的正殿里庙内还陈设了许多珍贵的艺术品,也是一个民间艺术博物馆,有“东方民间艺术之宫”的美誉。佛山人视祖庙为自己的根,自己的源,很多新婚夫妇即使没有在祖庙里举行婚礼也必定要到祖庙门前合影。快到上学的年龄的孩子又到祖庙来参加开笔典礼。祖庙的开笔典礼已经开办多年,珠三角不少家长学校都选择祖庙为小孩举行开笔典礼。

祖庙的内涵实在是过于丰富,只有亲自去体验,去感受,方能领略其中妙处。

B. 李小龙故居

享誉世界的功夫明星李小龙祖居在今佛山市顺德区均安镇上村乡。在上村村口,一座高大的祠堂便是李氏宗祠。正堂上供奉著李氏列祖列宗的灵位。整座祠堂显得宽敞整洁而有肃穆之气。屋高4.2米,一厅两房,厅宽15坑、房宽11坑。面积只有51平方米,并布置了李小龙生平的多幅相片。

C. 石湾美术陶瓷厂

石湾美术陶瓷厂成立于1956年,40多年来,已由一家单纯生产美术陶瓷的小厂发展成为拥有美术陶瓷、古建园林陶瓷、劈开砖、西式瓦、仿石砖、玉炻砖、园林艺术砖等多个“红狮”牌产品的大型现代化企业。

石湾陶塑是岭南著名的工艺美术品。石湾陶塑,源远流长,广东的石湾陶瓷早在新石器时代晚期的贝丘遗址中已揭开其烧陶的历史序篇,艺术陶塑盛行于唐,至明清而臻于鼎盛。石湾陶塑生产上属于民窑,陶塑艺术也完全属于民间陶塑艺人的创作。


第三日:广州大学城、岭南印象园

广州大学城,城区分布在珠江两岸,面积为34.4平方公里。有中山大学、华南理工大学、华南师范大学、广州大学、广东外语外贸大学、广州中医药大学、广东药学院、广东工业大学、广州美术学院、星海音乐学院、暨南大学和广州医科大学。 广州大学城是华南地区高级人才培养、科学研究和交流的中心,学、研、产一体化发展的国家一流大学园区,中国南部的“信息港”和“智力中心”。

B. 岭南印象园

岭南印象园位于小谷围岛南部临江地段,总占地面积16.5公顷,是体验岭南乡土风情和岭南民俗文化的旅游景区。这里有典型的岭南传统风格建筑群落,民居依水而建,或窄门高屋,或镬耳高墙。悠长的青云巷、古朴的趟栊门、精致的满洲窗,小溪蜿蜒,池塘清澈,处处散发著岭南水乡的韵味。 岭南印象园中富有特色的街巷、宗祠、民居和店铺等,充分展现了岭南传统文化的精华。景区突出原生的岭南文化和乡土景观,复原岭南民间繁荣生活场景,以岭南建筑完整、民间文化深厚、田园乡村风情浓郁,成为现代人了解岭南古文化的视窗。园内有舞狮、飞机榄、吹糖人、捏面人、爆米花、卖洋烟、卖报、街头画家、遛鸟、吹玻璃、卖金鱼、抖空竹、踢毽子、跳大绳、打陀螺等民间表演和童趣活动。