Hostel Smart Meter

Lee Woo Sing College's hostel smart meter system is the first similar system implemented in student hostels in Hong Kong. It is aimed at raising students’ awareness of energy saving and environmental protection.

All of the current (as of 2012) university hostels in Hong Kong require students to pay for air conditioning fee only. Other appliances, such as lighting, electric sockets are free to use. Students often not aware of the importance of energy saving and left their light, computer, even high power consumption appliances switched on even their rooms are not occupied since they do not have to pay for electricity used. To better educate our students of the importance of energy saving, Lee Woo Sing College designed the first-in-HongKong hostel smart meter.

The smart meter system is able to capture the electricity usage of air conditioning, lighting and electric sockets per bedroom individually. Students would have a chance to study their electricity consumption habit. All the electricity usage in each bedroom will be counted as a whole. The College will give reasonably adequate free credits* (with 20% additional credits loaded) to residential students' electricity account. Students can use the electricity freely without paying extra even for operating the air conditioners. Once the balance in the account is used up, students can simply top-up their account on a progressive scale* with their Octopus Cards for an extension of electricity provision.

*the current free credits quota and top-up rate are listed on the notice above each add value terminal

How to top-up your account?
Once students' electricity account balance is low (less than 10 units), the in-room LED indicator will light up. Students are advised to top-up their account at this moment. Otherwise, electricity provision of air conditioning will be discontinued immediately once credits are used up; electricity provision of lighting and sockets will not be discontinued immediately due to safety reason (A negative balance will be recorded. The negative balance shall either be deducted in the free electricity quota in the coming month or in hostel deposit.
All free electricity credits and paid credits can be brought forward to the coming month. Remaining paid  balance can only be refunded when students checking out the hostel.

Procedure of top-up:
1. Select block number and input room number, then press ENTER
2. Select ADD VALUE to top-up account or ENQUIRY to check top-up record; Password is required for enquiry
3. Select top-up value ($50)
4. Tap Octopus Card to complete top-up process (If card negative value is greater than $35 after top-up,
the process will automatically cancelled)

Please contact our hostel or office staff if you encounter any problems in the top-up process. Lee Woo Sing College hostel smart meter system accepts Octopus Cards ( octopus card symbol ) only for top-up payment.

跳到內文 字体大小AAA

宿舍智能电力读数装置

为提高学生对节能减排及环境保护的意识,和声书院在宿舍安装智能电力读数装置,此装置为全港首个宿舍智能电力管理系统。现时(直至2012年),全港的大学宿舍均提供免费用电(冷气用电除外)。由于用电免费,许多学生对节约用电意识都相对较低,在离开房间前不关灯、不关电脑、甚至不关高用电量电器的情况并不罕见。有见及此,和声书院设计了智能电力读数装置。

智能电力读数装置可分别读取每房间的冷气、照明及电插座的用电量,学生可查阅此等资料以了解用电习惯。所有电器用电会统一计算。书院会在每月月初为每房学生提供一个合理而足够(另加20%额外用电量)的免费用电量*,学生可随意使用电器(包括冷气)。当免费电量用完时,学生只要使用八达通卡为户口作累进计算增值*即可继续使用电力。

*现行之免费电量及累进增值费率已张贴在增值机上

如何为户口增值?
当学生的电力户口低结余(低于10单位)时,房间内的提示灯会亮起。此时,学生应尽快增值,否则当电量使用完毕时,冷气用电将即时中断;由于安全关系,其他用电将继续提供 (负用电量将于下月的免费用电额或宿舍按金内扣除)。
所有免费电量及付费电量均可累积到下一个月,户口内剩余的付费电量只可以于退宿时退还。

增 值程序
1. 输入座数,再输入房间号码并按ENTER键
2. 选择增值(ADD VALUE)或查阅增值纪录(ENQUIRY);查阅纪录需输入密码
3. 如需增值,请选择增值金额($50)
4. 拍八达通卡即完成增值过程(如扣款后卡上少于$35备用额,将不会扣款增值)

如在增值过程中遇上任何问题,请联络宿舍员工或院务室。和声书院之智能电力读数装置只接受八达通卡 ( octopus card symbol ) 增值。